Fan-tastic night at the park

Ok, I did it. I admit it. I went North Friday night. Headed up I-695. I went to that other ballpark 30 miles away from Annapolis. And I saw a first-place team as the O’s easily cruised past the Devil Rays.

First, lemme tell you about these seats, since for the first time, in say, at least five years, they weren’t in the press box. We had a front-row view of first base. Rick Dempsey was so close I could see the spit fly out of his mouth. Not that I haven’t seen these guys spit before. When you’re a beat writer, you pretty much have all-access. You’re on the field for BP before the game, even hanging out in the dugout. You’re in the locker room where you can see more than you want to. But you’re working. You’re focused. You’re in the zone and you don’t give a hoot about Sammy Sosa being Sammy Sosa. Sosa

All you care about is getting it right, writing it tight, and writing it tonight.

I was sitting there watching this game with a newfound awe, and a rekindled love for it. We got some beers. Some burgers. Some fries. And yeah, a couple more beers. We sang "Take me out to the ball game." We almost got drilled by a foul ball. I forgot what it was like to be a fan. All it takes is one trip to the ball park to remember, and it doesn’t matter which direction you go.

2 comments

  1. rtmudrinich@msn.com

    Ms Dinich:

    I am a long-time fan of Major League Baseball, especially the Pittsburgh Pirates. I present to you Rescue Rick the Grass Cut Man (sm) – a yard safety super hero. About a year ago, I had a lawn mower accident that resulted in the partial amputation of my left foot. Consequently, I have been an advocate and promoter of yard safety, with the goal to prevent these outdoor power equipment accidents from happening to other people. Furthermore, I have been a renaissance yardman, utilizing various art forms to communicate my safety message. I have approached Major League Baseball about the possibility of dedicating one day of the MLB season as Yard Safety Awareness Day. Each, there are about 400,000 individuals who experience lawn mower and garden-tool-related accidents, often times resulting in severe and life-altering outcomes. Since baseball is America’s pastime and often played on natural turf, I ask for any assistance that you may provide to facilitate this humanitarian idea. Please visit the Rescue Rick the Grass Cut Man (sm) website at http://www.rescuerick.com for additional information. Thank you for your BLOG. Best wishes!

    Richard Mudrinich

    Rescue Rick the Grass Cut Man

Leave a comment